Disable the WordPress Multisite (WPMU) Activation Step

So, you’ve created a WordPress Multisite (WPMU) installation, and you come to add your users. Simple right? 

Wrong! WPMU introduces additional authentication steps, whereby a user needs to activate their account by clicking a link that has been sent to them. A handy step for things such as self registration, however sometimes it does get in the way.

You see, before people have registered on the site via their activation key, they do not show up in the ‘users’ area of WordPress! This means that when you are managing a lot of users, it can quickly become frustrating. 

Removing the Activation Step in WordPress Multisite

Fortunately it is super simple to remove the activation step completely and have things behave like a regular old WordPress installation again. Simply just add the following code into your functions.php file:

function matt_watson_remove_wpmu_activation( $user_login, $user_email, $key ) {
    wpmu_activate_signup( $key );
    return false;
}
add_filter( 'wpmu_signup_user_notification','matt_watson_remove_wpmu_activation', 10, 3 );

Posted by Matt Watson

Matt Watson is co-founder of the WordPress agency Make Do. Matt loves learning about personal, professional and web development. Learn more about Matt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.